CONCACAF Champions League 2024: Qualification and Teams

The upcoming 2024 CONCACAF Champions League is set to be the 16th edition held under the current name, and the 59th edition overall of the prestigious football club competition organized by CONCACAF, the governing body for North America, Central America, and the Caribbean. This tournament will introduce a revamped format consisting of 27 teams and a five-round knockout phase.

Qualification for the 2024 CONCACAF Champions League

The tournament will have a total of 27 qualifying teams, with five teams advancing directly to the Round of 16 and the remaining 22 teams qualifying for Round One. The berths for the tournament will be determined by various competitions, including national league and cup competitions, as well as international competitions like the 2023 Leagues Cup and regional championships in the Caribbean and Central America.

A noteworthy change for this year is that the three MLS teams based in Canada will be eligible to participate in the CONCACAF Champions League through the MLS slots, along with the slot for the Canadian Championship winner. This is different from previous years.

2024 CONCACAF Champions League Teams

Teams qualifying for the tournament from different zones and associations are listed below:

  • North American Zone (18 teams)
  • Central American Zone (6 teams)
  • Caribbean Zone (3 teams)

Format of  Concacaf Champions League 2023

The new Concacaf Champions League will feature Round One, Round of 16, Quarterfinals, and Semifinals played in a two-leg format. However, the final will be a single match played at a designated location on a weekend date.

Concacaf President and FIFA Vice President, Victor Montagliani, expressed his excitement for this significant development and how it will benefit the region’s clubs and leagues. He said that the new format will provide a boost to the competition, elevate clubs and leagues from Concacaf, create compelling regional rivalries, and enhance the international relevance of club competitions. Furthermore, he added that this new format will provide a competitive pathway for clubs to qualify for the FIFA Club World Cup and succeed on the global stage.

Also read: The List of NFL Honors 2023 Award Winners

Photo of author
About The Author
This post is published by MS who started the website Find Motivation. The goal of this website is to motivate people by giving them the right knowledge and information.