What is the full form of NATO?

Post by Team FM

Last Updated:

Follow Our Channel

The full form of NATO is the North Atlantic Treaty Organization. NATO is an intergovernmental military alliance between 27 European countries, 2 North American countries, and 1 Eurasian country.

The organization implements the North Atlantic Treaty that was signed on 4 April 1949. It is also called the North Atlantic Alliance.

The NATO headquarters are located in Brussels, Belgium, while the headquarters of Allied Command Operations is near Mons, Belgium.

Since its founding, the admission of new member states has increased the alliance from the original 12 countries to 30. The most recent member state to be added to NATO was North Macedonia on 27 March 2020.

NATO currently recognizes Bosnia and Herzegovina, Georgia, and Ukraine as aspiring members. An additional 20 countries participate in NATO’s Partnership for Peace program, with 15 other countries involved in institutionalized dialogue programs.

The combined military spending of all NATO members in 2020 constituted over 57% of the global nominal total. Members agreed that their aim is to reach or maintain the target defense spending of at least 2% of their GDP by 2024.

Goal of Nato

  • NATO constitutes a system of collective security, whereby its independent member states agree to mutual defense in response to an attack by any external party.

History of NATO

  1. When the United States and several European nations joined the North Atlantic Treaty to cooperate against aggressors, NATO was created in 1949 after World War II.
  2. It began in 1949 with just 12 member states: Belgium, Denmark, Canada, France, Italy, Iceland, the Netherlands, Luxembourg, Norway, Portugal, the United Kingdom, and the United States.
  3. Greece and Turkey joined the organization in 1952
  4. It was joined by West Germany in 1955.
  5. Spain joined the Organization in 1982.
  6. Hungary, the Czech Republic, and Poland were invited to join the organization in 1997.
  7. One year after in 2004, NATO took command of the United Nations-mandated International Security Assistance Force (ISAF), it was joined by seven countries; Bulgaria, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Romania, Slovakia, and Slovenia.
  8. Albania and Croatia became their members in 2009.

Member Countries of NATO

  1. Canada 1949
  2. Belgium 1949
  3. Denmark 1949
  4. France 1949
  5. Iceland 1949
  6. Italy 1949
  7. Luxembourg 1949
  8. Netherlands 1949
  9. Norway 1949
  10. Portugal 1949
  11. United Kingdom 1949
  12. United States 1949
  13. Greece 1952
  14. Turkey 1952
  15. Germany 1955
  16. Spain 1982
  17. Czech Republic 1999
  18. Hungary 1999
  19. Poland 1999
  20. Bulgaria 2004
  21. Estonia 2004
  22. Latvia 2004
  23. Lithuania 2004
  24. Romania 2004
  25. Slovakia 2004
  26. Slovenia 2004
  27. Albania 2009
  28. Croatia 2009
  29. Montenegro 2017
  30. North Macedonia 2020

Thanks for reading the NATO Full Form and its brief history.

You can read the others full forms from the below list:

Also, you can join our Instagram page to get updates or you can visit our Pinterest page to get motivational images.